Back to All Events

Lisa Anselmo

  • Kinokuniya New York 1073 6th Avenue New York, NY, 10018 United States (map)
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books Price: $25.99 Member Price: $23.39

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Price: $25.99
Member Price: $23.39

Finding Purpose in Paris: Author Lisa Anselmo Shares How Shaking Up Her Life Led to Real Lasting Happiness

Lisa Anselmo upended her comfortable life in magazine publishing after the death of her mother—a defining force—created a profound identity crisis. Who was she without her mother—and her mother’s expectations? She hadn’t built a life on her own terms. Desperate to find purpose and meaning, she left everything familiar behind and threw herself into Paris—a place that had brought her joy in the past—and for the first time, took the uncharted course into an unsure future. Her journey is chronicled in her new memoir, My (Part-Time) Paris Life: How Running Away Brought Me Home.
 
Anselmo will share how shaking up her life was exactly what she needed to finally create lasting happiness well beyond the timeline of her memoir—and you’ll learn five ways you can shake up your own life for the better, too.

“Poignant…Readers who enjoyed Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love (2006) will appreciate Anselmo’s journey of self--‐discovery in this honest account.”  —Booklist

About the Author
Lisa Anselmo spent most of her professional career in magazine publishing.  She worked on the launch of Allure and the relaunch of Details with Lucy Sisman at Conde Nast, and the redesign of the New Yorker under Tina Brown. In 2007, she joined Time Inc., where she headed creative for a group of iconic brands, including InStyle and People.  Anselmo started traveling to Paris regularly over ten years ago, and eventually built another life across the ocean.

Earlier Event: April 23
Origami Workshop
Later Event: April 29
Bob Barner